T-03
Selank study dose explorer
Browse every dose used in published selank research, filtered by species, route and research area, with the citation and evidence grade attached to each row. Answers the question a dose calculator would answer dishonestly: what has actually been given, to what, and by whom.
Browse every dose used in published selank research, filtered by species, route and research area, with the citation and evidence grade attached to each row. Answers the question a dose calculator would answer dishonestly: what has actually been given, to what, and by whom.
There is no established human dose of selank. None of the five published human studies states a dose in its abstract, and four of the five are Russian-language papers whose full texts were not retrievable. Every dose shown in these tools is an animal dose, labeled with its species.
Published records (26 of 26)
| Area | Species | Dose / route | n | Outcome | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anxiety (clinical) | human | Not stated in abstract | 62 patients (30 selank, 32 medazepam) | Anxiolytic effects of the two drugs reported as similar; selank additionally reported to have antiasthenic and psychostimulant effects; leu-enkephalin half-life rose during selank treatment, mainly in the GAD group | 2008 |
| Anxiety (clinical) | human | Not stated in abstract | 60 patients | Pronounced anxiolytic and mild nootropic effects reported; anxiolytic effect reported to last one week after the last dose; positive impact on quality of life | 2014 |
| Anxiety (clinical) | human | Not stated in abstract | 70 patients (30 phenazepam, 40 combined) | Combined treatment decreased phenazepam side effects including attention and memory impairment, asthenia, sedation, longer sleep, sexual disturbance, emotional indifference and orthostatism, during treatment and after withdrawal | 2015 |
| Immune markers (clinical) | human | Not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Th1/Th2 cytokine balance changes reported in serum during 14 days of selank; in vitro, 10-7 M selank suppressed IL-6 gene expression in blood cells of patients with depression but not of healthy controls | 2008 |
| Brain imaging | human | Route described only as injection; dose not stated | 52 healthy participants | Between-group and between-condition differences in functional connectivity between the right amygdala and a right-hemisphere fusiform, inferior and middle temporal and parahippocampal region; authors describe defining selank and semax effects on this connectivity for the first time | 2020 |
| Enkephalin system (clinical) | human | In vitro concentration series on plasma | Not stated in abstract | Shortened enkephalin half-life and reduced total enkephalinase activity during generalized anxiety but not panic disorder or agoraphobia; selank inhibited plasma enkephalin hydrolysis dose-dependently | 2001 |
| Mechanism | in vitro | Concentration series | Human serum samples (no participants) | Both heptapeptides inhibited enkephalin-degrading enzymes dose-dependently and more potently than puromycin and bacitracin; pentapeptide fragments were also active while tri-, tetra- and hexapeptide fragments were not | 2001 |
| Mechanism | in vitro | Concentration series | Human plasma samples (no participants) | Selank reported comparatively specific for carboxypeptidases and dicarboxypeptidases, whereas bestatin predominantly inhibited aminopeptidases and carboxypeptidases; a carboxypeptidase pathway accounting for about 6 percent of total enkephalin-degrading activity was identified | 2004 |
| Mechanism | in vitro | Concentration-dependent | Membrane preparations (no participants) | Selank affected tritiated GABA binding as a positive allosteric modulator; joint action with benzodiazepines was not cumulative; selank blocked the modulatory activity of diazepam and olanzapine, with binding sites described as apparently not the same but potentially partially overlapping | 2018 |
| Mechanism | in vitro (human IMR-32 cells) | Selank alone and combined with GABA or olanzapine | Cell culture (no participants) | No changes in mRNA levels of the studied genes under selank alone; selank plus GABA nearly completely suppressed the changes GABA produced alone; selank plus olanzapine altered more genes than olanzapine alone | 2017 |
| Mechanism | rat | 300 micrograms per kilogram, selank or GABA | Not stated in abstract | 45 of 84 genes changed expression at 1 hour and 22 genes at 3 hours; changes produced by selank correlated positively with those produced by GABA | 2016 |
| Mechanism | in vitro (rat hippocampal slices) | 1 to 8 micromolar in bath | Slice preparation (no animal n stated) | Increased amplitude and discharge rate of spontaneous inhibitory postsynaptic currents; in some neurons preceded by a transient decrease | 2017 |
| Anxiety | rat | Course administration; doses not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Selank alone was most effective at reducing the elevated anxiety induced by a course of test substances; the diazepam plus selank combination was most effective under chronic stress conditions; a course of test substances worsened anxiety indicators even without stress, less so for selank | 2017 |
| Alcohol and memory | rat | 0.3 milligrams per kilogram per day, intraperitoneal | Not stated in abstract | Cognitive-stimulating effect in 9-month rats not exposed to ethanol; prevented ethanol-induced memory and attention disturbance during withdrawal; prevented the ethanol-induced BDNF rise in hippocampus and frontal cortex | 2019 |
| Opioid withdrawal | rat | Selank 0.3 mg/kg intraperitoneal single dose; diazepam 2 mg/kg comparator | Not stated in abstract | Reduced total morphine withdrawal index by 39.6 percent, attenuated convulsive reactions, ptosis and posture disorders, and raised tactile sensitivity threshold 9-fold; diazepam reduced the index by 49.3 percent with a 13-fold threshold rise | 2022 |
| Alcohol behaviour | mouse | 0.3 milligrams per kilogram intraperitoneal; ethanol 2.0 g/kg | Not stated in abstract | Prevented ethanol-induced hyperlocomotion, similar to naloxone 1.0 mg/kg and unlike afobazole; a single dose blocked the manifestation of motor sensitization without affecting its formation | 2016 |
| Route comparison | mouse | 300 micrograms per kilogram per day, intranasal or intraperitoneal | Not stated in abstract | Anxiolytic and nootropic effects only in the anxious BALB/c strain by either route; intraperitoneal dosing raised GABA-receptor binding sites in frontal cortex by 38 percent with no NMDA change, while intranasal dosing raised NMDA-receptor binding sites by 23 percent with no GABA change | 2016 |
| Neurotrophins | rat | Intranasal; dose not available in the PubMed record | Not stated | Regulation of BDNF expression in the rat hippocampus in vivo, per the study title | 2008 |
| Behaviour | monkey | Intranasal; dose not stated | Not stated in abstract | Long-term changes in behaviour disturbed during neurosis: reduced fear and aggression, increased orientational-exploratory activity, improved handling and communication; effects reported as independent of the type of neurotic disturbance | 2008 |
| Stress physiology | rat | 80, 250 and 750 micrograms per kilogram intraperitoneal, 15 min before stress | Not stated in abstract | Lower corticosterone, reduced pathomorphological manifestations of stress including atrophy and inflammatory reaction, altered mast cell number and activity, and accelerated adaptation | 2020 |
| Microbiota | rat | 80, 250 and 750 micrograms per kilogram intraperitoneal | Not stated in abstract | Chronic restraint stress reduced obligate microflora and increased opportunistic organisms; selank restored intestinal microbiota, attributed by the authors to central and peripheral mechanisms | 2019 |
| Immune | mouse | 100 micrograms per kilogram, single intraperitoneal injection | Not stated in abstract | Significant changes in expression of 34 of 84 inflammation-related genes including chemokines, cytokines and their receptors | 2011 |
| Antiviral | mouse and in vitro | Preventive and therapeutic schedules; doses not stated | Not stated in abstract | Antiviral effect in both systems, strongest under the preventive schedule where selank added 24 h before inoculation completely suppressed viral reproduction; highest animal survival also under the preventive schedule; induced interferon-alpha gene expression without affecting IL-4, IL-10 or TNF-alpha | 2009 |
| Parkinsonism (negative result) | rat | Not stated in abstract | Not stated in abstract | Neither semax nor selank affected motor activity in the elevated cross-shaped maze or passive defensive behaviour; selank decreased a separate measured parameter per the abstract | 2017 |
| Enkephalin system | mouse | 100 micrograms per kilogram | Not stated in abstract | Anxiolytic effect in the open-field test and increased plasma leu-enkephalin half-life in BALB/c mice; no effect on behaviour or enkephalinase activity in C57BL/6 mice | 2002 |
| Pharmacokinetics | rat | Intranasal in vivo; labelled peptide | Not stated in abstract | Major biodegradation products of selank in blood plasma identified as the pentapeptide TKPRP, tripeptide TKP and dipeptides RP and GP; selank pharmacokinetics examined in brain tissue after intranasal administration | 2006 |
Every row restates a published record; sources resolve on the sourced monograph. Species is part of the data: this table never scales an animal dose into a human figure.
Worked example
Reading a research dose honestly
Set Species to rat and Research area to Opioid withdrawal. One row returns: Konstantinopolsky 2022. Read the dose column: 0.3 milligrams per kilogram, intraperitoneal, single dose. Read the species column: rat. This is the step most vendor pages skip. Read the outcome: total morphine withdrawal index reduced 39.6 percent, against diazepam's 49.3 percent. Now try to convert 0.3 mg/kg to a human nasal dose. You cannot, and the tool will not do it for you: human bioavailability for selank has never been measured by any route. Switch Species to human. Six rows return, and every dose cell reads 'Not stated in abstract'. That is the honest end of the exercise.
Frequently asked questions
Why is there no selank dose calculator on this site?
Because a dose calculator needs a human dose to calculate from, and no published human selank study states one. Building one would mean importing a number from vendor marketing and presenting it as evidence-based.
Can I convert the rat dose to a human dose myself?
Not reliably. Interspecies scaling needs bioavailability by the route in question, and selank's human bioavailability has never been measured for any route, including nasal.
Why are the human rows in the dose table empty?
Because their source abstracts state no dose. Four of the five human studies are Russian-language papers whose full texts we could not read, and we do not publish figures we have not verified.
What does the literature explorer actually show me?
Where each selank paper came from: publication language, institutional country, species and evidence grade. Filtering to institutions outside Russia returns one review article and no original studies.
Are these numbers going to change?
Only if the literature changes. The census is recomputed from an archived PubMed corpus by a published script, and we re-verify when a new study appears.
Why show micrograms in some rows and milligrams in others?
Because that is how each source states it. We do not convert units silently, since a conversion error in a research reference is worse than a mixed table.
Is the nasal route better, based on the dose data?
The data cannot answer that. The one route comparison, in mice, found the two routes acted on different receptor systems rather than one being stronger, and no human comparison exists.
Do these tools store anything I enter?
No. Both tools run entirely in your browser on data already shipped with the page, and neither sends your selections anywhere.
Tools: educational calculators and references only.